Ministry of External Affairs Annual Report 2004-2005

December 31, 2005

There has been a healthy tradition of national consensus in the conduct of India’s Foreign Policy. The United Progressive Alliance (UPA) Government led by the Congress Party under the leadership of Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh, on assumption of power in May 2004, entrusted the External Affairs portfolio to Shri K. Natwar Singh, a career diplomat and veteran in the conduct of foreign policy and international relations. He is assisted by two Ministers of State, Shri E. Ahamed and Shri Rao Inderjit Singh. Shri Shyam Saran took over as Foreign Secretary from Shri Shashank on 1 August 2004.