Statement by Congressman Brad Sherman on H.R. 2105

June 6, 2011

Related Country: 

  • Iran
  • North Korea
  • Syria

Washington, DC - Congressman Sherman today joined with Congresswoman Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, Chairman of the House Foreign Affairs Committee, in introducing the Iran, North Korea and Syria Nonproliferation Reform and Modernization Act. The legislation improves existing law targeting firms and countries that assist these countries' nuclear and other advanced weapons programs.

The bill includes a provision authored by Congressman Sherman that would provide for sanctions against firms that provide any of the countries with equipment or technology relevant for mining or milling uranium. Iran is facing a uranium shortage, and has been searching for foreign sources of uranium as well as trying to improve its domestic capability to mine uranium. Under the bill, anyone that assists in either effort would be subject to penalties.

"I look forward to working with the Chairman, Ranking Member Howard Berman and others to pass this legislation and wider Iran sanctions legislation this year," Sherman said. "We have a number of nonproliferation bills introduced that I hope we will consider soon in Committee and pass through the House."

Although Congress enacted significant sanctions legislation last year, the Comprehensive Iran Sanctions, Divestment and Accountability Act (CISADA), and other countries have also stepped up sanctions, Iran has yet to abandon its nuclear weapons program.

"Stopping proliferation by Iran, North Korea and Syria are top priorities for this Congress," Sherman said. "While Iran's economy has been affected by existing measures, it's time we ramp up pressure on all three countries to stop developing nuclear weapons."

Earlier this year, Sherman introduced the Stop Iran's Nuclear Weapons Program Act, legislation that will further isolate Iran's crumbling energy sector and target the Revolutionary Guards that have terrorized the Iranian people.

Sherman is the Ranking Democratic Member on the House Subcommittee on Terrorism, Nonproliferation and Trade.