Regulations Amending the Special Economic Measures (Iran) Regulations

December 7, 2022

Whereas the Governor in Council is of the opinion that gross and systematic human rights violations have been committed in the Islamic Republic of Iran;

Therefore, Her Excellency the Governor General in Council, on the recommendation of the Minister of Foreign Affairs, makes the annexed Regulations Amending the Special Economic Measures (Iran) Regulations under subsections 4(1)a, (1.1)b, (2)c and (3) of the Special Economic Measures Actd.

a S.C. 2022, c. 10, s. 438(1)

b S.C. 2017, c. 21, s. 17(2)

c S.C. 2022, c. 10, s. 438(2)

d S.C. 1992, c. 17


1 Part 2.1 of Schedule 1 to the Special Economic Measures (Iran) Regulations1 is amended by adding the following in numerical order:

  1. Habibollah Jan Nesari
  2. Abdolkarim Geravand
  3. Mohammad Mahmoudabadi (born in 1968)
  4. Ghorbanali Dorri-Najafabadi (born in 1945)
  5. Ahmad Alam Al-Hoda (born in 1944)
  6. Iman Afshari
  7. Abolghasem Salavati (born in 1967)
  8. Mohammad Reza Amoozad
  9. Mohammad Jafar Montazeri (born in 1948)
  10. Hassan Askari
  11. Mohammad-Taghi Osanloo
  12. Alireza Moradi
  13. Ali Akbar Javidan
  14. Ebrahim Kouchakzaei
  15. Seyyed Heshmatollah Hayat al-Ghaib (born in 1965)
  16. Allah Karam Azizi
  17. Seyed Vahid Haghanian (born in 1963)
  18. Seyed Ali Asghar Mir Hejazi (born in 1946)
  19. Ameneh Sadat Zabihpour Ahmadi (born in 1984)
  20. Mohsen Bormahani
  21. Ahmad Noroozi (born in 1988)
  22. Yousef Pouranvari

Application Before Publication

2 For the purpose of paragraph 11(2)(a) of the Statutory Instruments Act, these Regulations apply according to their terms before they are published in the Canada Gazette.

Coming into Force

3 These Regulations come into force on the day on which they are registered.

1 SOR/2010-165