Statement on the Occasion of the IAEA Board of Governors

June 11, 2019

Weapon Program: 

  • Nuclear

Madam Chair,

I have the honour to speak on behalf of the European Union. The following countries align themselves with this statement: the Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Iceland, Serbia, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Liechtenstein, Norway, and San Marino.

The European Union would like to thank the Director General for his report contained in document GOV/2019/21 on the Verification and monitoring in the Islamic Republic of Iran in light of United Nations Security Council Resolution 2231 (2015), and the Secretariat for the technical briefing on 6 June 2019.

At the outset, the EU would like to reiterate its position that it regards the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) as the cornerstone of the global nuclear non-proliferation and disarmament architecture.