Iran Signs Memorandum to Join Shanghai Cooperation Organisation

September 15, 2022


Al Jazeera

Related Country: 

  • China
  • India
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Pakistan
  • Russia
  • Tajikistan

Iran signed a Memorandum of Obligations to become a permanent member of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) at the group's summit in Uzbekistan. The SCO is a security body led by China and including India, Russia, Pakistan, and four Central Asian states. Iran's full membership is expected to go into effect in April 2023, making it the ninth SCO member.