Six New European Nations Join Iran Barter System Opposed By U.S.

December 1, 2019


Radio Free Europe

Related Country: 

  • Belgium
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Sweden

Belgium, Denmark, Finland, the Netherlands, Norway, and Sweden are joining the Instrument in Support of Trade Exchanges (INSTEX), a special purpose financial vehicle which is designed to facilitate European trade with Iran outside of U.S. sanctions authority. The six new members join France, Germany, and the United Kingdom as shareholders of INSTEX, which was established in January 2019 but has yet to process any transactions.