Countries respond to U.N. Sanctions on Iran

March 3, 2008

Publication Type: 

  • Policy Briefs

On March 3, 2008, the U.N. Security Council adopted a third resolution (U.N. Security Council Resolution 1803) imposing sanctions on Iran for its refusal to freeze uranium enrichment. Fourteen countries voted in favor of the resolution and one country (Indonesia) abstained. The resolution authorizes inspections of cargo to and from Iran that is suspected of carrying prohibited goods, extends travel restrictions and asset freezes to additional Iranian entities linked to nuclear and missile work, bans Iran from procuring all dual-use technology, and tightens monitoring of Iranian financial institutions. The resolution also renews a pledge to Iran from Britain, China, France, Germany, Russia and the United States for economic cooperation and full relations if Iran suspends enrichment work. Iran's ambassador to the International Atomic Energy Agency called the new resolution "irresponsible."

Read reactions and analysis from around the world:

Statements by U.N. Security Council member states before and after the vote, 3-3-08.

Comments by Australia's Minister of Foreign Affairs on Resolution 1803, 3-3-08.

Israel's Foreign Ministry spokesperson welcomes Resolution 1803, 3-3-08.

Statement by Japan's Minister of Foreign Affairs on the adoption of 1803, 3-4-08.