Sharif University of Technology

Also Known As: 

  • Arya-mehr University of Technology
  • SHFT
  • SUT
  • Sharif Technical University

Weapon Program: 

  • Nuclear
  • Missile


  • P.O. Box 11365-11155, Tehran, Iran
  • P.O. Box 11365-9161, Tehran, Iran
  • PO Box 11365-8639, Azadi St., Tehran, Iran
  • P.O. Box 11155-9466, Tehran, Iran
  • P.O. Box 11365-9466, Tehran, Iran
  • Azadi Ave, 11365-8639, Tehran, Iran


98-21-918-8287, +98-21-6022727, +98 21 600 5419, 98-21-6602 2721, 98-21-6616 5201, 98-21-6616 5202, 98 21 66022727


98-21-601-2983, +98 21 601 2983, 98-21-66005717, 98 21 66036005


Entity Web Site:

An Iranian technological university engaged in military and ballistic missile-related projects for the Iranian government; provides support to entities involved in Iran's military and in production and procurement for Iran's ballistic missile program.

Cooperates with the Ministry of Defense, the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC), and the IRGC Air Force; signed a cooperation agreement with Aerospace Industries Organization (AIO) for the production of satellites; reportedly signed a contract to establish a "space park" in cooperation with the Iran Space Research Center; provides graduate courses in unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) engineering in cooperation with the Iranian Ministry of Science, Research, and Technology; affiliated with the Physics Research Center (PHRC).

Faculties include aerospace engineering, chemical engineering, chemistry, civil engineering, computer engineering, electrical engineering, energy engineering, industrial engineering, management and economics, materials science and engineering, mathematical sciences, mechanical engineering, philosophy of science, and physics; engineering department sanctioned by Canada in 2012 for involvement in Iran's proliferation activities or affiliation with the IRGC.

Has access to in-house and industrial facilities in combustion, turbo-machinery, and supersonic and subsonic wind tunnels; department of aerospace engineering conducts research on solid propellant rocket motors in multi-stage rockets; has conducted research on vortex combustion engines in the context of liquid rocket engine chambers; conducts research on applied electronics, advanced machining, fluid mechanics, heat transfer, impact and penetration, metrology, optics and lasers, parallel processing, robotics, thermodynamics, and turbochargers.

Reportedly facilitated procurement for Iran's centrifuge program; in 1991, reportedly approached German firms in an attempt to buy cylinders of fluorine and specialized magnets used in centrifuges; reportedly received a balancing machine from Germany in 1991; reportedly hosts a branch of the Jehad Daneshgahi Organization that cooperated on laser enrichment research with the Laser Research Center at the Tehran Nuclear Research Center (TNRC).

Intended recipient of a scanning electron microscope VEGA LMH, the procurement of which was denied on August 1, 2007, by a member state of the Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG); intended recipient of a MAS Machining Center model MCV, 750 speed, standard accessories and hand wheel HR41, Heidenhain iTNC 530, the procurement of which was denied on March 29, 2007, by an NSG member state.

Affiliated with Iran-based technology companies AmnAfzar Gostar-e Sharif and PeykAsa; Iran-based Industrial Automation Group (IAG) has provided laboratory equipment to the aerospace faculty; allegedly obtained American-designed software from Iranian national Mohammed Saeed Ajily.

Has an international campus on Kish Island; Office of International and Scientific Cooperation promotes joint research and degree programs with academic institutes abroad; has signed memoranda of understanding with universities in Germany, Russia, and Sweden.

President is Mahmud Fotuhi Firuzabad; former president is reportedly Saed Sohrabpour; faculty have included Rasool Jalili (associate professor of computer engineering, dean of scientific and international cooperation, and head of information technology group) Hamid Reza Rabiee (professor of computer engineering), Seyed Mojtaba Atarodi (electrical engineering department), and reportedly Abdullah Afshar (vice president of research), Davood Rashtchian (chair of chemical engineering department), Hossein Zadeh (chair of metallurgical engineering department), and Abbas Anvari (chair of physics department).

Established in 1966 as Arya-mehr University of Technology.


Listed by the European Union on December 22, 2012, as an entity linked to Iran's proliferation-sensitive nuclear activities or Iran's development of nuclear weapon delivery systems; the E.U. listing was annulled by the General Court of the European Union on July 3, 2014; relisted by the European Union on November 7, 2014; with some exceptions, EU member states must freeze assets owned or controlled by the entity, directly or indirectly, and prevent assets from being made available to it.

Sanctioned on December 31, 2020, by the government of the United Kingdom, restricting business and financial transactions with the entity and freezing its assets in the United Kingdom.

Listed by the Japanese government in 2022 as an entity of concern for proliferation relating to missiles and nuclear weapons.

Listed by the British government in 2015 as an entity of potential concern for WMD-related procurement, but removed in 2017 after the U.K. withdrew its Iran list.

Mentioned Suspect Entities & Suppliers: 

Date Entered: 

January 26, 2004

Date Last Modified: 

February 14, 2023